Dr Dermot Smurfit

Dermot Smurfit led the consortium of investors which acquired Savon Sellu from M-real in January 2005. He was appointed as a director on 22 December 2004 and became the Group’s Chairman on its establishment in 2006. He was the joint Deputy Chairman of Jefferson Smurfit Group PLC, one of the world’s leading packaging groups, from 1994 to 2003 and was its Director of Sales and Marketing worldwide from 1997 to 2003. Prior to this he held a number of other senior positions with the Jefferson Smurfit Group. Dr Smurfit is a former Chairman of the World Containerboard Organisation and of FEFCO which represents the interests of European corrugated board manufacturers. He is the current Chairman of ML Capital and a non-executive director of Timber Capital Ltd and the Forest Company Ltd.

Marco Casiraghi

Marco Casiraghi joined the Group as its Chief Executive Officer on 1 January 2010 and was appointed as a director on 29 April 2010. From 2001 to 2009, he was Chief Executive Officer of Coesia Group, a large, privately owned industrial group headquartered in Bologna, Italy involved in the design and manufacture of machinery for process automation, specialist engineering and packaging applications. Between 1994 and 2000, he was Chief Executive of the Italian operations of Jefferson Smurfit Group plc and prior to this was a Senior Vice President of United Technologies Carrier, the manufacturer of air conditioning and heating systems.

David Walton

David Walton joined the Group as its Chief Financial Officer on 1 January 2009 and was appointed as a director on 28 April 2009. From 2004 to 2007, Mr Walton was Chief Executive and from 2001 to 2003, he was Finance Director of API Group plc, an international packaging company. Between 1994 and 2001, he was a Divisional Managing Director of Wace Group plc until its acquisition by NASDAQ listed Applied Graphic Technologies, Inc. when he became a Senior Vice President. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young and from 1990 to 1994 worked in corporate finance.

Christopher Knight

Chris Knight was appointed as a non-executive director on 11 April 2007. He was an investment banker for nearly 30 years, for much of that time with Morgan Grenfell and Deutsche Bank, and has extensive corporate finance experience gained during his career in London, New York and Hong Kong. He is currently Chairman of Brooks Macdonald Group plc. Mr Knight is Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees.

Teresa Presas was appointed as a non-executive director on 29 April 2014. She has over thirty years of experience within the paper industry and was Director General of CEPI, the Confederation of European Paper Industries, from 2003 until her retirement in 2014. Prior to joining CEPI, she held a number of positions within the Tetra Pak organisation, including most recently Vice President of Tetra Pak Europe. Mrs Presas is Chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Audit and Remuneration Committees.

Tony Smith

Wolf-Dieter Baumann was appointed as a non-executive director on 28 May 2015. He has more than thirty years of experience in the paper and packaging industries and has held senior positions in a number of large multinational organisations specialising in the manufacture of machinery and equipment and the supply of technology for the paper and packaging industry, including 17 years spent with Voith. He is currently working as an adviser to a leading German investment company. Mr Baumann is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees.